January

This month has been full of words.

I started off the year by signing up to Clare Shaw and Kim Moore’s Writing hour, (in which you are granted a whole hour to be inspired and write) I’ve done it as often as I can, bar the mornings when i’m at work. I had no idea it would be so fruitful; I imagined myself staring at a blank page when it was time to put pen to paper, while everyone else was scribbling away.

But actually, there is something to be said for just diving in without giving it too much thought. Giving yourself the freedom to write whatever you damn well like. It doesn’t matter if it goes no further other than your notebook. I’ve noticed when you write in ten/fifteen minute chunks of time, you can plant seeds. You might write a line that stands out, or come up with a theme you want to explore a bit deeper. Or not. Sometimes you come out with something fully formed.

If you want to be a writer, there are no excuses. Write. We all have ten minutes a day we can spare: in the morning with a cup of coffee, waiting in the car for the kids, in your lunch break, sat on the loo, or when you finally crawl back into bed. Keep notebooks EVERYWHERE. If you get stuck for inspiration, pick up an object and describe what you see. Like I said, it doesn’t matter, you’re doing this for you. Make it part of your daily routine.

I’ve also signed up for Jo Bells Poetic License, to continue the flow of granting myself permission. It’s already proving to be a fabulous writing community. If you could do with a prompt a month and a little nudge, you can sign up by clicking here

In other news, I’ve been offered a place on The University of Wales’s Creative Writing MA course, which starts in February. I’m filled with nervous excitement, standing on the edge of a mountain of work. I can’t wait!

And finally, I’m working on my Giving Tree collection of words and pictures, ‘The Gift IS Giving’, with Moormaid Press.

Looks like it could be another wordy year!

10:35 Epiphany

When there is nothing left to give,

you realise there are two kinds of people in this world:

The ones that steal lighters,

and the ones that “borrow” pens.

Leave a comment

Filed under Posts

Leave a comment